Department Head

Dr. David Saunders
McCollum Science Hall 144
319-273-2456
david.saunders@uni.edu

Environmental Physiology

Blood flow and blood clotting in hibernating animals.

... more about Dr. Saunders  

Graduate Faculty Members

Dr. Tilahun Abebe
McCollum Science Hall 191
319-273-7151
tilahun.abebe@uni.edu

Genetics, Functional Genomics, Stress Physiology

Tolerance of crops to environmental stresses.

... more about Dr. Abebe  

Dr. Peter Berendzen
McCollum Science Hall 66
319-273-7026
peter.berendzen@uni.edu

Systematics and evolution of fish

... more about Prof. Berendzen  


Dr. Barton Bergquist
BRC 37
319-273-6213
bart.bergquist@uni.edu

Cellular Form and Function

Cell-level effects of chemicals (e.g., heavy metals) and chemotherapeutic agents on cellular motility and cytoskeletal dynamics.

... more about Dr. Bergquist  

Dr. Maureen Clayton
McCollum Science Hall 127
319-273-7147
maureen.clayton@uni.edu

Oceanography

Sublethal effects of contaminants in aquatic systems

... more about Dr. Clayton  

Dr. James Demastes
McCollum Science Hall 70
319-273-2022
james.demastes@uni.edu

Vertebrate Systematics

Coevolution and biogeography of vertebrates and their parasites.

... more about Dr. Demastes  

Dr. Kavita Dhanwada
McCollum Science Hall 93
319-273-5976
kavita.dhanwada@uni.edu

Cell Biology

... more about Dr. Dhanwada  


Dr. Kenneth Elgersma
Biology Research Center 71
319-273-2645
kenneth.elgersma@uni.edu

Ecology

... more about Dr. Elgersma  

 

Dr. Laura Jackson
Biology Research Center 35
319-273-2705
laura.l.jackson@uni.edu

Conservation Biology, Plant Population Biology

Ecological restoration of agricultural landscapes; forb establishment dynamics in tallgrass prairie reconstruction

... more about Dr. Jackson  

 

Dr. Jim Jurgenson
McCollum Science Hall 181
319-273-2539
james.jurgenson@uni.edu

Genetics

... more about Dr. Jurgenson  

 

Dr. Julie Kang
McCollum Science Hall 91
319-273-7152
julie.kang@uni.edu

Plant Developmental Morphology

   


Dr. Jill Maroo
McCollum Science Hall 153
319-273-5814
jill.maroo@uni.edu

Science Education

... more about Dr. Maroo  

 

Dr. David McClenahan
McCollum Science Hall 95
319-273-2218
david.mcclenahan@uni.edu

Cell Biology/Immunology

... more about Dr. McClenahan  

 

Dr. Mark Myers
McCollum Science Hall 17
319-273-2493
mark.myers@uni.edu

Conservation Biology

... more about Dr. Myers  

 

Dr. Steve O'Kane
Biology Research Center 59
319-273-2219
steve.okane@uni.edu

Plant Systematics

Plant Molecular Systematics and floristic studies in the western United States

... more about Dr. O'Kane  

 

Dr. John Ophus
McCollum Science Hall 158
319-273-3960
john.ophus@uni.edu

Science Education

... more about Dr. Ophus  

 

Dr. Kurt Pontasch
McCollum Science Hall 64
319-273-2098
kurt.pontasch@uni.edu

Ecotoxicology

... more about Dr. Pontasch  

 

Dr. Nilda Rodriguez
McCollum Science Hall 85
319-273-6505
nilda.rodriguez@uni.edu

Cell Biology, Immunology, Microbiology

... more about Dr. Rodriguez  

 

Dr. Robert Seager
Biology Research Center 39
319-273-2670
robert.seager@uni.edu

Genetics, Evolutionary Biology

... more about Dr. Seager  


Dr. Mark Sherrard
McCollum Science Hall 97
319-273-2770
mark.sherrard@uni.edu

Plant Evolutionary Ecology

... more about Dr. Mark Sherrard  

 

Dr. Marek Sliwinski
McCollum Science Hall 17
319-273-5467
marek.k.sliwinski@uni.edu

Genetics

... more about Dr. Sliwinski  


Dr. Daryl Smith

Native Roadside Vegetation Center 3

319-273-2238
daryl.smith@uni.edu

Prairies

... more about Dr. Smith  

 

Dr. Theresa Spradling
McCollum Science Hall 10
319-273-6214
theresa.spradling@uni.edu

Evolutionary Biology

... more about Dr. Spradling  

 

Dr. Jeff Tamplin
McCollum Science Hall 23
319-273-2327
jeff.tamplin@uni.edu

Herpetology

... more about Dr. Tamplin  

 

Dr. Carl Thurman
McCollum Science Hall 83
319-273-2276
carl.thurman@uni.edu

Animal Physiology

... more about Dr. Thurman  

 

Dr. Michael Walter
McCollum Science Hall 183
319-273-6490
michael.walter@uni.edu

Microbiology-Virology

... more about Dr. Walter  

 

Dr. Jeff Weld
McCollum Science Hall 153B
319-273-2723
jeff.weld@uni.edu

Science Teaching and Learning

... more about Dr. Weld  

 

Dr. Darrell Wiens
McCollum Science Hall 104
319-273-6880
darrell.wiens@uni.edu

Animal Development

Early development in animals, the role of cell movements, and the effects of altered gravity and teratogens.

... more about Dr. Wiens  

 

Instructors

Dr. Kim Cline-Brown
McCollum Science Hall 185
319-273-6303
kim.cline-brown@uni.edu

Behavioral Biology

... more about Kimberly Cline-Brown  


Ms. Mary McDade
McCollum Science Hall 189
319-273-6994
mary.mcdade@uni.edu

Anatomy and Physiology

... more about Ms. McDade  

 

Adjunct Instructors

Ms. Christy Carr
McCollum Science Hall 187
christina.carr@uni.edu

 

   

 

Ms. Dori Jurgenson
McCollum Science Hall 87
319-273-6513
dorothea.jurgenson@uni.edu

 

 

 

Ms. Maria Perez-Gonzales
McCollum Science Hall 187
maria.perez@uni.edu

 

 

Dr. Ai Wen
McCollum Science Hall 117
ai.wen@uni.edu

 

 

Staff

Sandi Ingles - Office Coordinator
sandi.ingles@uni.edu

Bev Schomaker - Office Assistant
beverly.schomaker@uni.edu

Larry Hilton - Stock Room Manager
larry.hilton@uni.edu

Joan Smothers - Biology Academic Adviser
joan.smothers@uni.edu

Billie Hemmer - Botanical Center/Preserves Manager
billie.hemmer@uni.edu

Stephanie Witte - Botanical Center/Preserves Horticulturalist
stephanie.witte@uni.edu

Faculty Emeritus/Retired

Dr. Virginia Berg, Professor of Biology - 2011
Plant Physiology
virginia.berg@uni.edu

Dr. Ed Brown, Professor of Biology - 2013
Environmental Microbiology

ed.brown@uni.edu

Dr. Jean Gerrath, Professor of Biology - 2011
Plant Anatomy
jean.gerrath@uni.edu

Dr. Cherin Lee, Associate Professor of Biology
    and Science Education - 2013
Science Education
cherin.lee@uni.edu

Dr. Alan Orr, Professor of Biology - 1998
Cell Biology
akorr@cfu.net

Dr. Orlando Schwarz, Professor of Biology - 2010
Ecology
orlando.schwartz@uni.edu

Dr. Robert Simpson, Professor of Biology - 1992
Physiology

Dr. Paul Whitson, Professor of Biology - 2005
Ecology
paul.whitson@uni.edu

Staff Retired

Ron Camarata, Botanical Center/Preserves Manager - 2004
Ronald.Camarata@uni.edu

Jean Wellman, Office Assistant - 2000
rayjean@traer.net

top -- webmaster@bio.uni.edu --

website stats
-- August 11, 2014